WEATHER: Hazardous Winter Weather Alerts Issued by National Weather Service




The National Weather Service in Tallahassee has issued several hazardous weather alerts for our area for the next couple of days.

A hard freeze watch is in effect for southeast Alabama and most of southwest Georgia with temperatures expected to dip into the low 20’s:

The National Weather Service in Tallahassee has issued a Hard
Freeze Watch, which is in effect from late Wednesday night
through Thursday morning.

* TEMPERATURE...Lows around 20.

* IMPACTS...A prolonged period of sub-freezing temperatures will
  be a danger for pets, livestock and sensitive vegetation.
  Exposed water pipes will be at risk of freezing and possibly
  bursting.

In addition to the freeze watch, a wind chill advisory has been issued as the cold front moves through our area:
* WHAT...Light snow possible with accumulations generally less
  than 1 inch with wind chill values in the teens.

* WHERE...Portions of southeast Alabama, south central and
  southwest Georgia and the Florida panhandle.

* WHEN...For the Winter Weather Advisory, from 10 PM EST /9 PM
  CST/ this evening to 1 PM EST /noon CST/ Wednesday. For the Wind
  Chill Advisory, from 1 AM EST /midnight CST/ to 1 PM EST /noon
  CST/ Wednesday.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A Winter Weather Advisory for blowing snow means that
visibilities will be limited due to strong winds blowing snow
around. Use caution when traveling, especially in open areas. The
latest road conditions for the state you are calling from can be
obtained by calling 5 1 1.

A Wind Chill Advisory means that cold air and the wind will
combine to create low wind chills. Frost bite and hypothermia can
occur if precautions are not taken. Make sure you wear a hat and
gloves.

Detailed Forecast

Today
Increasing clouds, with a high near 58. Calm wind becoming west southwest around 5 mph.
Tonight
A chance of rain after 10pm, mixing with snow after 5am. Mostly cloudy, with a low around 29. Light west northwest wind becoming north northwest 5 to 10 mph in the evening. Chance of precipitation is 30%. New snow accumulation of less than a half inch possible.
Wednesday
A chance of snow, possibly mixing with rain after noon, then gradually ending. Cloudy through mid morning, then gradual clearing, with a high near 37. Wind chill values as low as 17. Northwest wind 10 to 15 mph. Chance of precipitation is 30%. New snow accumulation of less than a half inch possible.
Wednesday Night
Clear, with a low around 22. North wind 5 to 10 mph.
Thursday
Sunny, with a high near 47. North wind around 5 mph.
Thursday Night
Clear, with a low around 23.
Friday
Sunny, with a high near 55.
Friday Night
Mostly clear, with a low around 32.
Saturday
Sunny, with a high near 63.
Saturday Night
Partly cloudy, with a low around 44.
Sunday
A 20 percent chance of rain. Mostly sunny, with a high near 69.
Sunday Night
A 20 percent chance of rain. Mostly cloudy, with a low around 52.
Monday
A 50 percent chance of rain. Mostly cloudy, with a high near 66.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*