Heat advisory for Southwest Georgia on Tuesday




…HEAT ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/ THIS

MORNING TO 7 PM EDT /6 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN TALLAHASSEE HAS ISSUED A HEAT
ADVISORY…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/ THIS
MORNING TO 7 PM EDT /6 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING.

* TEMPERATURE: HIGHS 94 TO 98 DEGREES.

* HEAT INDEX: MAXIMUM VALUES 109 TO 112 DEGREES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

TAKE EXTRA PRECAUTIONS…IF YOU WORK OR SPEND TIME OUTSIDE. WHEN
POSSIBLE…RESCHEDULE STRENUOUS ACTIVITIES TO EARLY MORNING OR
EVENING. KNOW THE SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS OF HEAT EXHAUSTION AND HEAT
STROKE. WEAR LIGHT WEIGHT AND LOOSE FITTING CLOTHING WHEN
POSSIBLE AND DRINK PLENTY OF WATER.

 

…HOT AND HUMID WEATHER CONTINUES WITH THE RETURN OF DANGEROUS
HEAT INDICES AGAIN TODAY ACROSS PORTIONS OF THE AREA…

.WITH DEWPOINT TEMPERATURES EARLY THIS MORNING ALREADY TRACKING
WELL ABOVE YESTERDAY MORNINGS VALUES…IT IS EXPECTED TO BE MORE
HUMID TODAY WITH SIMILAR HIGH TEMPERATURES. THE COMBINATION SHOULD
PRODUCE DANGEROUS HEAT INDICES AROUND 110 DEGREES OVER SOUTHEAST
ALABAMA…THE FLORIDA PANHANDLE AND WESTERN FLORIDA BIG BEND…AND
PORTIONS OF FAR SOUTHWEST GEORGIA. HEAT INDEX READINGS SHOULD
GENERALLY PEAK BETWEEN AROUND NOON AND 3 PM EDT BEFORE
SCATTERED THUNDERSTORMS BEGIN TO DEVELOP.




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*