Three FSU Seminoles Garner USA Today All-America Honors

2015_USA_Today_All_AmericansRoberto Aguayo, Roderick Johnson and Jalen Ramsey all earn second team honors.

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State landed an ACC-best three All-Americans on the USA TODAY Sports College Football All-America teams as announced on Wednesday morning. Roberto Aguayo, Roderick Johnson and Jalen Ramsey all garnered second team accolades as the Seminoles were one of six schools with at least three All-American selections in 2015.

Aguayo finished the regular season second on the team with 106 points connecting on 20-of-24 field goal attempts and all 46 PAT’s. The redshirt junior kicker currently ranks fourth in the ACC in field goal percentage (.833) and fifth in field goals per game (1.67). Earlier this year, Aguayo established a new ACC record for consecutive PAT’s – a mark that currently sits at 195. A semifinalist for the 2015 Lou Groza Award, Aguayo connected on a season-long 51-yard field goal at Florida and was perfect on all 15 attempts inside 40 this year.

Johnson started every game at left tackle this year en route to being named the 2015 ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy recipient. The sophomore from Florissant, Mo., has helped pave the way to Dalvin Cook’s record setting, single-season performance for rushing yards (1,658) and all-purpose yards (1,876). Johnson has been the leader on the offensive line that has produced nine 100-yard rushers on the year and averaged 32.3 points per game. His average grade of 75.7% is the highest on the team this year.

Ramsey caused havoc for the opponents’ passing game all season long. The junior defensive back started all 12 games and finished the regular season seventh on the team in tackles with 43. Ramsey led all Seminoles with 10 pass break-ups – good for 10th in the ACC. Against No. 1 Clemson, Ramsey recorded a season-high nine tackles, a PBU and his first sack of the year. The Smyrna, Tenn., native scored the only defensive touchdown for Florida State this year on a 36-yard fumble return at Boston College.

With this year’s recognition, Aguayo (2013, 2014 & 2015) becomes FSU’s first three-time All-American (first, second or third team) as a kicker/punter surpassing Sebastian Janikowski (1998 & 1999) and Rohn Stark (1980 & 1981). Ramsey has been named an All-American for the second consecutive year, while Johnson is earning All-America honors for the first time in his career.

Each team consists of 11 offensive players, 11 defensive players and three specialists.




QB: Deshaun Watson, Clemson

RB: Derrick Henry, Alabama

RB: Christian McCaffrey, Stanford

WR: Corey Coleman, Baylor

WR: Josh Doctson, TCU

TE: Hunter Henry, Arkansas

OL: Jack Conklin, Michigan State

OL: Joshua Garnett, Stanford

OL: Ryan Kelly, Alabama

OL: Spencer Drango, Baylor

OL: Joe Thuney, North Carolina State



DL: Joey Bosa, Ohio State

DL: Sheldon Day, Notre Dame

DL: DeForest Buckner, Oregon

DL: Shaq Lawson, Clemson

LB: Tyler Matakevich, Temple

LB: Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame

LB: Reggie Ragland, Alabama

CB: Jourdan Lewis, Michigan

CB: Desmond King, Iowa

S: Jeremy Cash, Duke

S: Marcus Maye, Florida



K: Jake Elliott, Memphis

P: Tom Hackett, Utah

RET: Morgan Burns, Kansas State




QB: Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma

RB: Ezekiel Elliott, Ohio State

RB: Leonard Fournette, LSU

WR: Will Fuller, Notre Dame

WR: Sterling Shepard, Oklahoma

TE: David Morgan, UTSA

OL: Roderick Johnson, Florida State

OL: Jack Allen, Michigan State

OL: Matt Skura, Duke

OL: Taylor Decker, Ohio State

OL: Joe Dahl, Washington State



DL: Carl Nassib, Penn State

DL: A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama

DL: Andrew Billings, Baylor

DL: Emmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma State

LB: Kentrell Brothers, Missouri

LB: Blake Martinez, Stanford

LB: Joe Schobert, Wisconsin

CB: Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma

CB: Jalen Ramsey, Florida State

S: Damontae Kazee, San Diego State

S: Quin Blanding, Virginia



K: Roberto Aguayo, Florida State

P: Hayden Hunt, Colorado State

RET: Will Likely, Maryland

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.