GHSA regroups high schools into 7 classifications – see where your team fits in

The Georgia High School Association Reclassification Committee heard appeals and structured schools into classifications Wednesday at its meeting in Thomaston, Ga.

The committee set dividing lines to have seven classifications, with the the 48 largest schools–teams like Lowndes County and metro Atlanta schools–forming Class 7A.

The new reclassification will affect all sports, not just football, although regions may be split up into subregions.

Bainbridge, with 1,487 students, will fall into the 5A class. Based on past region setups, Bainbridge will likely be placed into a region with Thomas County Central and a mixture of schools from Columbus, Ga., and the Houston County – Warner Robins area. (Northside-Warner Robins is in 6A, however.)

Thomas County Central was slated to be put into 6A, but won its appeal of enrollment numbers and out-of-county percent rule. It was put in Class AAAAA with 1,474 enrollment and 81 students (5.5 percent) living outside of the county, according to the GHSA document.

It’s the highest out-of-county percentage in Class 5A behind only Buford, who also stays in the classification with 1,299 students, 17.1 percent of which live outside the county.

Cairo will stay in Class 4A with 1,187 enrollment and nine students (.8 percent) residing outside of the county, according to the GHSA.

Thomasville was one of 12 teams to win its appeal and will stay put in 2A. Its enrollment is listed at 761 with 30 students (3.9 percent) living outside of the county.

Schools have until Nov. 30 to request to play up. The committee will meet Dec. 1 to put schools in regions. Schools can appeal that decision by Dec. 7; They’ll be heard by the committee Dec. 8.

The full executive committee will ratify the reclassifications Jan. 13. You can view the full list of the 7 classifications and their member schools here.

Other Southwest Georgia teams’ classifications:

  • Seminole County – Class A
  • Mitchell County – Class A
  • Pelham – Class A
  • Miller County – Class A
  • Early County – Class AA
  • Albany – Class AA
  • Monroe – Class AAA
  • Lee County – Class 6A
  • Baconton Charter – Class A
  • Dougherty – Class AAA
  • Americus-Sumter – Class AAAA
  • Worth County – Class AAA
  • Crisp County – Class AAA

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.