Candidates qualify for local elections in Decatur and Grady County

Candidates, both incumbents and first-timers, began qualifying for local elections this week in Southwest Georgia.

For Bainbridge Council, Luther Conyers, Jr., Roslyn Palmer, Don Whaley are all up for reelection.

As of Tuesday, Palmer and Whaley have qualified for their seats, but Conyers has not qualified yet.

Kregg Close, a local mortician, and Olive S. Wedderburn have qualified for the seat held by Conyers.

In the City of Attapulgus, the mayor and all four seats are up for reelection.

As of Tuesday, incumbent Mayor Johnny Medley has qualified and incumbent Councilman Lamar Maxwell has qualified. George Robert Ward has qualified as a candidate for City Council.

In the Town of Brinson, the Mayor seat, occupied by James Earp, Post 1, occupied by Jesse Powell, and Post 3, occupied by Joe H. Belvin, are up for reelection.

As of Friday morning, Earp and Belvin had qualified to run for re-election. Monty Bullock has qualified as a candidate for the council seat held by Powell.

In the City of Climax, two council seats held by incumbents Vanessa Martin and Bob Jones are up for election. No one has qualified for Climax City Council yet. Decatur County Clerk of Elections Carol Heard said she understands that if no one qualifies for the two council seats, vacancies will be created when the council terms expire. Then it will be up to the rules set forth in the town’s charter to determine how the vacancies will be filled.

Qualifying ends at 4:30 p.m. Friday.

Elections qualifying in Cairo and Whigham

From the September 2 issue of The Cairo Messenger:

Not a single candidate has qualified for the upcoming municipal election in Whigham as of the close of business Tuesday, according to Whigham City Clerk Lisa Calhoun.

All city councilmen and the mayor of Whigham are up for election this year.

Current councilmen include Carole Booth, Jeffrey Brinson, Janice Brinson, Jim Sellers, and Joe Singletary. Mayor George Trulock is the incumbent mayor.

Cairo City Clerk Carolyn Lee reports that Jerry Cox and incumbent councilmen Bobby Gwaltney and Lannis Thornton all qualified Monday morning.

Cox announced last week his intention to qualify for the District 5 council post being vacated by the retiring Councilman Kermit Gilliard.

Both Gwaltney and Thornton also announced last week their plans to seek reelection.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.