No. 1 Florida State Puts Seven Players on USA TODAY Preseason All-America Team

Jameis Winston at press conference | Photo by Dustin Dowdy
Jameis Winston at press conference | Photo by Dustin Dowdy

Tre’ Jackson, Nick O’Leary and Roberto Aguayo captured first team honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – No. 1 Florida State led all schools with seven players named to the USA TODAY Sports’ preseason All-America college football first and second teams released on Thursday.

Senior tight end Nick O’Leary, senior right guard Tre’ Jackson and redshirt sophomore Roberto Aguayo were all named to the USA TODAY preseason first team, while redshirt sophomore quarterback Jameis Winston, senior wide receiver Rashad Greene, redshirt senior left tackle Cameron Erving and sophomore safety Jalen Ramsey captured second team honors.

O’Leary will enter his fourth season as the Seminoles’ primary tight end this fall coming off of a 2013 campaign where he had 33 receptions for 557 yards and seven touchdowns for the national champions. The Palm Beach, Fla., native led all tight ends with a 16.9 yards per catch average last season.

Jackson was an All-ACC First Team selection last season and enters his third year as a starter. He helped the Noles set FSU and ACC records for single-season total offense (7,627 yards), points per game (51.6) and yards per play (7.67) and the national record for points (723) in 2013.

Aguayo had one of the greatest seasons ever by a kicker in college football history in 2013, setting the single-season record for points by a kicker (157) en route to the Lou Groza Award and several first-team All-America accolades.

Winston is coming off a record-breaking Heisman Trophy season, while Greene has been the Seminoles’ leading receiver the past three seasons and is on pace to set every FSU receiving record. Erving captured several All-America honors a year ago and Ramsey started every game as a true freshman for the Noles, garnering freshman All-America honors in the process.

Winston Named to Manning Award Preseason Watch List
Winston headlined the list of 32 quarterbacks selected for the Manning Award Preseason Watch List, announced on Thursday.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Winston will look to become the first repeat winner of the Manning Award, after capturing the honor following his breakthrough 2013 campaign.

The winner will again be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Wednesday, Nov. 26. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 14.

Winston passed for 4,057 yards and 40 touchdowns while leading the Seminoles to an undefeated (14-0) national championship season in 2013. He became the youngest player ever to win the Heisman Trophy and also collected the Davey O’Brien Award, ACC Male Athlete of the Year Award, and consensus All-America honors in addition to the Manning Award.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.