Florida State’s Eberle Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Eberle Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Redshirt senior has made 32 consecutive starts at center

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State center Alec Eberle was named to the Outland Trophy Watch List Tuesday, given to the nation’s top offensive or defensive lineman. Eberle, a redshirt senior from Mechanicsville, Virginia, was previously named to the Rimington Watch List as the nation’s best center.

Eberle took home All-ACC second-team honors in 2017 and has made 32 consecutive starts at center dating back to 2015. Eberle anchored an offensive line that helped block for an offense that averaged over 350 yards of total offense per game, while topping the 400 mark six times.

Eberle has blocked for a 1,000-yard rusher in each of his three seasons as a starter – Dalvin Cook twice set the school record for rushing yards in 2015 (1,691) and 2016 (1,765), while Cam Akers set the school freshman rushing record with 1,024 yards in 2017.

Eberle led the protection of a freshman signal-caller each of the past two seasons as well. In 2017, freshman quarterback James Blackman passed for 2,230 yards to rank third in the nation among freshmen. As the first true freshman quarterback to start for FSU since 1985, Blackman was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player of the Independence Bowl after throwing for a bowl-record four touchdowns in the win.

In 2016, Eberle helped quarterback Deondre Francois lead the nation’s freshman signal-callers with 3,350 yards passing, the fifth highest total in FSU history.

The Outland Trophy will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN in December.

2018 Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Defensive POY) – Brian Burns
Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) – Cam Akers & Deondre Francois
Doak Walker (Running Back) – Cam Akers & Jacques Patrick
Good Works Team – Fredrick Jones
Rimington (Center) – Alec Eberle
Outland (Interior Lineman) – Alec Eberle
July 25 – Groza (Kicker) & Ray Guy (Punter)
July 26 – Hornung (Versatile) & Wuerffel (Community Service)
July 27 – Walter Camp (Player of the Year)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.