Georgia Peanut Commission Holding Nomination Meetings

TIFTON, Ga.- Nomination meetings to fill two positions on the Georgia Peanut Commission Board of Directors will be held Dec. 15, in Swainsboro, Ga., and Dec. 16, in Colquitt, Ga. The Georgia Farm Bureau Federation will conduct the meetings as peanut producers nominate peers to represent the commission’s Districts 1 and 3 which expire Dec. 31, 2014. The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location with one board member representing each district. Each nominee must produce peanuts and live within the district for which he is nominated.

“Georgia Farm Bureau encourages peanut farmers in these two districts of the Georgia Peanut Commission to attend the meeting in their district and participate in making nominations for these commission positions,” says Zippy Duvall, Georgia Farm Bureau president. “The peanut commission plays an important role in promoting Georgia peanuts, crop research and education.”

The District 3 nomination meeting will be held Dec. 15, at 11 a.m. at the Emanuel County Farm Bureau Office in Swainsboro, Ga. Joe Boddiford of Screven County is the incumbent in the district. Counties in District 3 include: Appling, Bacon, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Montgomery, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Washington and Wayne.

The District 1 nomination meeting will be held Dec. 16, at 10 a.m. at the Miller County Extension Office in Colquitt, Ga. Tim Burch of Baker County is the District 1 incumbent. Counties in District 1 include: Baker, Calhoun, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell and Seminole.

Any peanut producer may be nominated or make nominations at the meeting for the peanut district in which he lives. Incumbents are eligible for re-nomination. If more than one person is nominated, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Commission by-laws state a person must receive a majority of the votes cast for a position to be elected to the board. If only one person qualifies for the position, no election is required and the nominated person automatically becomes a member of the Georgia Peanut Commission Board. If multiple people are nominated for a GPC seat, the current director will continue to serve until the election is completed. Commission members serve three-year terms.

For more information regarding the Georgia Peanut Commission, visit

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.