Florida State’s Cameron Erving Repeats As ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy Recipient

Cameron Erving

14173744558340Senior’s honor is the 10th for a Seminole lineman

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Florida State’s Cameron Erving has been voted the Jacobs Blocking Trophy winner for the second consecutive season, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Sunday. With Erving’s selection, six Seminole offensive linemen have now claimed the honor a combined 10 times.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player chosen the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a vote of each school’s head coach or defensive coordinator. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. The trophy will be presented at the ACC’s Night of Legends event, which will be held this Friday (5:30 p.m.) at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of festivities held around the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

Cameron Erving
Cameron Erving
Erving, a 6-5, 308-pound redshirt senior from Moultrie, Georgia, earned this year’s honor after playing two offensive line positions for the top-ranked and unbeaten Seminoles over the course of the season. After starting 37 consecutive career games at left tackle, he moved to center for Florida State’s road game at Miami on Nov. 15. He did not allow a sack and had the highest grade on the offensive line in the Seminoles’ 30-26 win.

Erving was voted the ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week following his performance against Miami. The honor was his second of the season, as he was also recognized for his play at left tackle following Florida State’s 42-31 win over Louisville on Oct. 30. Following the Miami game, Erving remained at center for the Seminoles’ final two regular-season wins over Boston College and Florida.

“For Cam to win the Jacobs again for the second straight year is a tremendous accomplishment and very well deserving,” Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher said. “His versatility from tackle to center and all the things he does for our line from the leadership and experience really makes him one of the great ones out there.”

This marks just the third season that Erving has played on the offensive line. He played on the defensive line in 2011 before switching to the offensive side of the ball. Erving amassed 22 total points in the coaches’ voting to capture the 61st ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy (no award was given in 1996). Duke’s Laken Tomlinson placed second in the voting with 15 points, followed by Pitt’s T.J. Clemmings with 12 and Georgia Tech’s Shaquille Mason with nine. In all, 13 different ACC offensive linemen received votes in the balloting.

Erving started all 12 regular-season games in 2014 and has made 40 consecutive starts on the offensive line dating back to 2012. His play this season has helped Florida State average close to 35 points per game and lead the ACC in passing offense (299.1 yards per game).

He is the sixth Florida State player to be named a recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, and becomes the fourth to win the award multiple times. Guard Rodney Hudson (2009 and 2010), tackle Brett Williams (2001 and 2002) and center Clay Shiver (1994 and 1995) were other FSU two-time recipients. Tackles Tra Thomas (1997) and Tarlos Thomas (2000) were each honored once.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.